City of Art and Magic

This post was contributed by Michael Manjarris, Project Director for Sculpture for New Orleans.

Sculpture for New Orleans is an on-going sculpture exhibition placing monumental sculptures throughout New Orleans, from the well-traveled areas of Downtown, Uptown and the Garden District to City Park and the New Orleans Museum of Art.

The concept of the project is to bring national and international attention to the visual arts and the artists of post-Katrina New Orleans. With the support of an international field of artists, the sculpture exhibition will give local artists a chance to assist and install artwork, as well as the opportunity to network with the visiting artists. In addition, the show will give the local artists a much-needed support structure. Visit http://www.sculptureforneworleans.org/ to find out more.

My beginnings started in New Orleans. One could say I was imprinted by the city.  I grew up there, it’s my home. My life change drastically when my parents moved to Houston when I was a kid but I never forgot New Orleans and did everything I could to go back even for a day. After Katrina hit I could see and feel the need to help and make something happen. I did what I knew how to do and worked as an artist helping out the city. I was one of many and hope the efforts of all involved made a difference. Sometimes people do care in the city that care forgot.

This entry was posted in 24 International Sculpture Conference. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

